Midsomer Common -Magic Hour

Image –

During the recent trip to Cambridge we went to a meal at Midsomer House to celebrate my dad’s birthday. I was tickled pink to go somewhere named after one of my favourite TV series and the food was awesome. Extraordinary I mean I never would have thought to make a candy cane like for a stick of rock and fill it with beetroot and goats cheese…. 4 hours later we left after the 7 course tasting menu – our taste buds stunned. We got there early so had time to wander across the common and enjoy the boats on the Cam. This is when I took this picture at ‘magic hour’. Yesterday I had a similar moment in Dunbar sitting on a bit of the ruined battery looking out over the sea, the Cormorants on a rock and a boat making its way back to harbour. It was such an extraordinarily beautiful moment like Midsomer Common in the evening. I thought about a family friend who has been struck by a viriulent form cancer. And I thought about how glad I’ve been about the moments I’ve wasted taking photographs and sitting looking at the sea.

Leave a Reply

